iMac 27 inch 2017: A Dream Realised

Sleeping last night and concentrating today at reading for “Church Development” was no easy task. I remember that the first time when I realised that I want one of those machines was in 2015, in the spring. Two years later, I get to finally have one.

The unboxing was as pleasant as of any other Apple device. The materials were of great quality, and the monitor was carefully protected by several layers of plastic. I think the whole procedure took only three minutes. The installation was so intuitive; it felt as if I am doing this every day.

The difficult part was figuring out where all the settings were and how I could change system preferences and so on. I was struck at how clear the images were. The 5k panel is absolutely astonishing; crispy and colourful. On the other hand, the quality of the speakers blew me away; the bass that is coming out of this beast is absolutely unbelievable.

Because I could buy Final Cut Pro and some other productivity apps with a student deal, I  tried to get to know its functions. After just 2 minutes I realised that I needed to watch a lot of tutorials on YouTube before I can try again. The app Motion I did not even dear to open because I knew I will not be able to make anything out of it.

I am very happy that I could install Microsoft Office thanks to my Office 365 subscription. The apps are snappy and as complete as on PC. I am curious whether I can install Zotero, but that is for another day.

The continuation between my iPhone and the iMac is sick. If I open Safari on my phone, I can pick it up right away on the iMac. The same is with Messenger app, Notes, Contacts etc. If I copy something within phone’s OS and I press CTRL+V on the Mac, the thing gets pasted. What for sorcery is that?

It is now 23:20 and I feel exhausted by all the waiting and from the exploring that I have done in the last 5 hours. I can’t wait to discover so many other things from this long-awaited mechanical beast, in the following days.

Cheers.